Matchy Matchy

There are some things that I don’t like matchy matchy- gym clothes for one, particularly those worn by skinny girls who wear makeup to the gym yet never seem to sweat. You might have picked that up from my occasional twitter and facebook rants when I see such atrocities.

But. Matchy matchy kids clothes? Yes PLEASE!

The winter jammie supply was getting low and the stores only seem to have summer items now, so I found enough flannel in my fabric stash that would make two matching pairs. Using a pair of their own pajama pants, I drafted a pattern and was able to whip these up in no time.

Did you know that pajama pants were my first sewing project? After receiving my machine for Christmas 5 years ago, my husband encouraged me to take a sewing 101 class at Joann’s. The class project was pj’s! I’m happy to say that my kids pj pants are much nicer than the pair I made for myself, but that’s what you get with a few more years of experience. And a serger. I serge finished all the edges on these guys and the difference is amazing. Much less bulk, hopefully better wear, and they look more professional overall.

I did have a tough time capturing the kids in them.

Once family movie night starts, they’re not so interested in having their pictures taken.

Oh, well. I think they were the perfect pajama pants to watch the blizzard episode of Little House on the Prairie!

1 Comment

Filed under Kids Clothes, sewing

One response to “Matchy Matchy

  1. Very cute! I don’t own a sewing machine, so this will never happen in my house, but I love seeing pictures of your cute kids in your cute homemade creations!!!

Leave a Reply

