Dollar Store Crafts Part 2 of 4- Artwork Gallery

I am mom to a 4 1/2 year old and 2 1/2 year old. We do a lot of crafts and they also create seven thousand pieces of artwork a week between afternoon craft time, preschool, and Sunday School. We’ve tried various ways to display said artwork, which inevitably ends up with a zillion papers on the side of my fridge, taped all over the walls, or way too many clipped on a holder. I was looking for an idea that would make my children’s creations look important and treasured, while at the same time encouraging the rotating of “exhibits”. The haphazard-taped-all-over-the-place was driving me nuts.

So I decided to once again use some sweet stuff from the Dollar Tree and add a little TLC!

I picked up 3 cookie sheets and 2 pizza pans. I spray painted them in two different Rust-o-leum colors that we had in our basement- Kona Brown and Nutmeg. The frames were then hung using those 3m Command Strips so I would have to worry about drilling holes through metal and putting nail holes in the wall. With any luck, just a little paint touch up will be needed someday when we move from here into our dream home (stillllll dreaming).

The quote is from Picasso and I cut it with my Silhouette on some repositional vinyl that I had on hand from another project. I love it! I hope my children remain artists at whatever their art is for their whole life. I know I enjoy my own “art”! If you can call craftiness art!

The cost breakdown is as follows:

Cookie Sheets       $3

Pizza Pans               2

Spray Paint           free  (already had it)

Command Strips   $3

Total=                       $8

Someday I’d like to make little bubble magnets with the kids’ names on them but for now, any magnet will do to hold the artwork to the frame.

I’m really happy with the way it turned out. Especially since it cleans up my house a little bit. Every bit helps when you’ve got the chaos of kids at home!!!

6 Comments

Filed under crafts, DIY, home decor

6 responses to “Dollar Store Crafts Part 2 of 4- Artwork Gallery

  1. Pingback: Dollar Store Crafts Part 3 of 4- Shoe trays | Crafting Things New

  2. Pingback: Corralling the Chaos Overview | Crafting Things New

  3. I’m curious to find out what blog platform you are working with? I’m experiencing some small
    security issues with my latest site and I’d like to find something more risk-free. Do you have any recommendations?

  4. Hello, Neat post. There is a problem together with your web site in internet explorer, may
    check this? IE still is the market leader and a large
    section of people will omit your magnificent writing because of this
    problem.

  5. If your symptoms are dictating your daily routines,
    get help. If you are unsure of the date when you want to kiss
    the girl. Don’t forget that the supply of the Sun’s energy is endless.

  6. Hello my family member! I wish to say that this article is amazing, nice written and include almost all vital infos.
    I’d like to peer extra posts like this .

Leave a Reply

