Growing superpowers

I’ve seen wheatgrass shots at the smoothie bar at my gym and on television (I confess on the Kardashians, but I seriously only watched them a few times before the wedding special and I totally swore them off after the 72 day marriage). Heard about the amazing superpowers of this little plant. I thought about adding a shot to my protein shake at the gym, but it was wicked expensive.

Wheat grass… hmmm… we can grow that, yes? Then I guess I can grow my own superpowers.

After a little bit of research I discovered that you only need organic wheat berries to get started. I found some in the Nature’s Marketplace section of Wegmans (world’s greatest grocery store).

Because of the hard nature of the wheat berry (the seed), I soaked them in water for over a day until they started sprouting. Then we put some potting soil  in one of those clamshell containers that you get field mix in and sprinkled the wheat berries in.

Get a spritzer bottle to do the watering. Water out of the faucet will displace the seeds.

Close the top, put in a sunny window, and spritz with water every day. In about 2 weeks, you’ll have something that looks like this:

It may grow faster in the heat of the summer. Be on the lookout for mold at the base of the plants; overcrowded seedlings can have this problem.

If it looks good, take some scissors and harvest your wheatgrass!

I read about using a wheatgrass juicer, but because that costs dinero and I have a teeny kitchen… another appliance could send me over the edge on a bad day… I opted to throw the grass in the blender while I was making a green smoothie.

There’s spinach in there, too.

And that’s where I get my superpowers.

Actually, I only had it twice, but it was a fun project to do with my four year old daughter. She enjoyed the whole planting, watering, harvesting process. Using a clear container was great too because she could see the roots starting to grow under the soil.

 

1 Comment

Filed under Fitness, Recipes

One response to “Growing superpowers

  1. Paula Romano

    Wow Dana! You are an amazing girl! I hope wheatgrass gives you a super baby delivery, real soon!!!!! . . . How’s it taste, and did Savanah try it?

Leave a Reply

