Banana Oat Pancakes

I’m standing here in my kitchen, flipping pancakes at 1:30 in the afternoon.

Why? Well, two reasons. One, my son asked for pancakes for lunch; and two, I’ve been meaning to make pancakes for the past week or so and I already had all the ingredients on hand.

I like to make a double batch of these and freeze them so I can pop them in the microwave for the kids during the week. It’s a great way to get some fiber in and I feel better giving them these than the frozen boxed ones. Although the boxed ones are fine, I just have issues taking shortcuts. Apparently I enjoy creating more work for myself 🙂

Banana Oat Pancakes

1 c rolled oats, ground in blender or food processor

1 c whole wheat pastry flour

2 tsp baking soda

1 tbsp brown sugar

1 very ripe banana, mashed

2 tsp vanilla

1 1/2 c plain yogurt (I use the Stonyfield Whole Milk kind)

2 eggs

2 tbsp canola oil

Mix together the oats, flour, baking soda and brown sugar. Stir in the banana, vanilla and yogurt. Add eggs and oil.

Heat a griddle and spray with a non stick spray. Pour about 1/4c of batter onto the skillet for each pancake. Cook over moderate heat and flip when the bubbles burst on the surface.

I noticed that these pancakes require superior flipping skills compared to a white flour pancake recipe. I think maybe the lower gluten levels may be the reason for that. So, be aware and bring your A-Game to the griddle 🙂

Leave a comment

Filed under Recipes

Leave a Reply

