Halloween 2014

Halloween was so three weeks ago, but I worked so hard on everyone’s costume I just had to share!

IMG_1833.JPG

For the first time in forever, everybody had a handmade costume. Even me and Keith.

It all started with an oops- I purchased a Frozen pattern from Joann’s that had a photo of a child Elsa and adult Anna. As I was cutting out the pattern pieces it struck me that the sizes were in numbers when I was expecting S-M-L and that the smallest size looked huge for Savannah.

Keith offered to go to Joann’s and buy the right pattern. Which was awesome because I was about to cry at that moment.

IMG_1905.JPG

I spent every spare minute working on costumes from about Mid October on.

IMG_1789.JPG

IMG_1793.JPG
Sydney’s costume was the warmest and most practical for a Buffalo Halloween. She made a cute Olaf!

My costume was partly following a pattern and partly winging it. I found an image of Anna’s embroidered top and used my Silhouette to trace it and create a freezer paper stencil.

IMG_1817.JPG
I used fabric paint to recreate the embroidery on an old gym tank.

IMG_1832.JPG
Savannah loved having is us Frozen characters for her class party. Her joy was worth any smidge of embarrassment I felt walking down the elementary school halls with my costume!

IMG_1822.JPG

Savannah was one of EIGHT Elsa’s in her class. There are eleven girls in her class: 8 were Elsa, one was Anna, one was a clown and one was a cowgirl.

IMG_1797.JPG

Luke was Kristoff. His costume was pretty simple. I used an old t shirt of Keith’s and cut the sleeves and neckline. I added faux fur and trim to the shirt, paired it with jeans and his sisters old wannabe Uggs from last year. I sewed up a set of brown mittens and put a black slouchy beanie on his head to complete the look.

IMG_1829.JPG

Keith was Sven the reindeer. His costume was a felt poncho that I hot glued faux fur to. I sneezed all night after making it from all the snippets of fur that flew everywhere!

It was fun, and slightly embarrassing to stroll through the neighborhood all decked out with he kids, but they had a blast and loved that our whole family were characters from the same movie.

I wonder what they’ll ask me to do for next year!!!

5 Comments

Filed under crafts, DIY, home life, Kids Activities, Kids Clothes, recreate, sewing, Silhouette Projects

5 responses to “Halloween 2014

  1. taylorfamilyurbanfarm

    I love the whole family theme!

  2. This is an intense project! They all came out so great! 🙂

  3. bethelaine27

    This is awesome. You are my Halloween hero!

Leave a Reply

