Matching Christmas dresses

I found the cutest dress for my daughter Savannah this summer at a garage sale. It was in pristine condition and was very Madeline-esque.

I decided to try to recreate the dress in size toddler for Sydney, because my aunt taught me very well that sisters. Should. Always. Match. I remember so many memories of my cousins wearing matching outfits. I loved seeing them in their adorable outfits!

IMG_2352.JPG

The bow proved to be the most difficult for me; I might beg my friend Leslie to fix it since she has her own hair bow business and has serious bow making skills.

I used a current dress for Sydney to figure out the length and I utilized two other patterns to create the dress- one for a circle skirt and another that had a bodice, zipper and bell sleeves.

I cut off a few inches of the fullness of the skirt to make the finished dress more similar to Savannah’s dress.

IMG_2312-0.JPG

The bottom trim was also challenging because Joann’s was out of the narrow velveteen trim I wanted. The wider band did not bend well on a curved hem. I remedied this by notching the trim every few inches to create a curved effect. It was rather time consuming!

IMG_2318-0.JPG

IMG_2317-0.JPG

Those girls are cute.

IMG_2315.JPG

IMG_2316.JPG

I’ll be making them matching outfits as long as they will let me.

2 Comments

Filed under DIY, Kids Clothes, recreate, sewing, Uncategorized

2 responses to “Matching Christmas dresses

  1. So cute. I admire your skills of which I have absolutely (next to) none! Your girls are very lucky 😃

  2. Really cute dresses. I just found your blog as I looked for wipe off placemats for my 6 year old twins. It sounds like you are in western ny. Are you? I am and used to blog at hollyhocks.typepad.com Anyway, I love the Christmas dresses.

Leave a Reply

